Redhawks News · 2018 WESTYS AWARD WINNERS

On Tuesday night we held our 3rd Annual Westys Athletic Awards Night here at Westwood. It was another wonderful night as we recognized all of the athletic accolades and accomplishments from the past school year. Nominees and coaches got to ride in the limousines, walk the “red carpet,” and conduct interviews before the ceremony got started. The ceremony recognized all of the winners of each category and video productions of sports season reviews, cheer squads, and student athletic trainers. The special Mark Mickens award for courage was presented to Kayla Racine of the Track and Field team for overcoming personal obstacles in her life to become a State Champion Discus thrower. Listed below are the winners of this year’s Westys. Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners of this year’s event.

Female Best Single Game Performance: Jasmine Brown–Track and Field
Male Best Single Game Performance: Paul McCants–Cross Country
Female Play of Year: Unique Drake–Girls Basketball
Male Play of Year: Torran Goings, Trini Feggett, Montre Miller, & Dermonti Romey 4×100 Relay–Track and Field
Female Newcomer Of Year: Kendall Ragins–Girls Tennis
Male Newcomer of Year:  Edwin Olmeda–Baseball
Female GPA: Nala Wilson–Volleyball
Male GPA: Jon Del Rio Segasteberri–Boys Track
Female Iron Hawk: Azjanae Anderson–Volleyball
Male Iron Hawk: Josh Heyward–Football/Wrestling
Female Team of Year: Girls Basketball
Male Team of Year: Boys Basketball
Female Redhawk: Diamond De La Rosa–Girls Soccer
Male Redhawk: Brian Horn–Track and Field
Asst Coach of Year: Jonathan Durant–JV Boys Basketball
Head Coach of Year: Gregory Bauldrick–Girls Basketball
Female Athlete of Year: Unique Drake–Girls Basketball
Male Athlete of Year: Trini Feggett–Track and Field